The HIE Excellence Awards are presented every year at the Annual HIE Summit. The HIE Excellence Awards are non-monetary recognitions of achievement for an organization and individual leader. These prestigious awards recognize a leader who demonstrates leadership in the use of health information technology, as well as an organization that develops or demonstrates innovative uses of health information technology, to achieve the Quadruple Aim of better outcomes, lower costs, and improving both the patient and provider experience. All recipients will be recognized through Contexture promotions.

Judging Committee
The independent judging committee will screen all nomination applications received by the deadline and determine whether each nominee has met the eligibility requirements and criteria for innovative and interoperable uses of health technology in population health management. The committee will then score each eligible nominee according to category criteria and select the awardees.

Nominations have closed. The 2023 Excellence Award winners will be announced at the Contexture Health Data of the Future 2023 Summit on Tuesday, October 3.

Prior Year Recipients

2023 Excellence Award – Leader
Vicki Buchda
Arizona Hospital and Healthcare Association

2023 Excellence Award – Organization
A New Leaf

2022 CO HIE Excellence Award – Leader
Michael Jefferies
Boulder Community Hospital

2022 CO HIE Excellence Award – Organization
Kids First Health Care

2022 AZ HIE Excellence Award – Leader
Jami Snyder, Director
Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System (AHCCCS)

2022 AZ HIE Excellence Award – Organization
Arizona Complete Health

2021 ACHIEVE Award
Anita C. Murcko, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Biomedical Informatics, College of Health Solutions & Interim Director
Arizona State University Center for Health Information and Research (CHiR)

2021 Health IT Leadership Award
Dr. Kishlay Anand
Apricus Health

2021 Health IT Innovation Award
Kingman Regional Medical Center

2020 ACHIEVE Award
Sonora Quest Laboratories

2020 Health IT Leadership Award
James Whitfill, MD

2020 Health IT Innovation Award
Equality Health

2019 Health IT Leadership Award
Heather Carter

State Senator, Arizona Senate District 15

2019 Health IT Innovation Award
Pendleton Pediatrics

2018 Health IT Leadership Award
Peter Vermilyea, Clinical Applications Coordinator & Captain, United States Public Health Service
Winslow Indian Health Care Center (WIHCC)

2018 Health IT Innovation Award
Horizon Health and Wellness


2017 Health IT Leadership Award
Dr. Bradford D. Croft, DO

East Flagstaff Family Medicine

2017 Health IT Innovation Award
El Rio Health

2016 Health IT Leadership Award
Lorie Mayer, Health IT Coordinator
Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System (AHCCCS)

2016 Health IT Innovation Award
Phoenix Children’s Care Network